Pros advice

More gimme controversy at PGA Cup

Powered by National Club Golfer


If you thought that Suzann Pettersen’s behaviour at the Solheim Cup was close to the mark then this puts it in the shade.

In last week’s PGA Cup David Dixon thought he had been conceded a THREE-INCH putt at the 11th in the singles of the club pros’ equivalent of the Ryder Cup.

His opponent, the Texas-based Australian Stuart Deane, claimed the hole which got him back to two back.

But the honorary president of the PGA of America, Allen Wronowski, heard news of the incident and, thankfully, stepped in.

He met the two players on the 13th and, after talking to the players, decided to concede the 14th without a ball being struck.

Wronowski, who had seen the Pettersen incident earlier in the day, said: “We always say that someone will walk away with the trophy but the ultimate winner always has to be golf.”

Dixon went on to win 4&3.

“It was a blatantly deliberate act of bad sportsmanship as the referee had already said the hole had been halved in 4s. Fair play to the US team captain for giving the hole back - that was really cool - but it was much to his (Deane’s) disgust.”

Great Britain & Ireland went on to win the 13.5-12.5.



Keep up to date with all the latest news & videos
Latest News
  • american golf News: American Golf Par-3, Ladies & Senior tournament updates

    With a host of tournaments underway at American Golf, here's an update of the winners and runners-up for the par-3, ladies and senior competitions...
    Read more

  • american golf News: Phil Mickelson and caddie Jim "Bones" Mackay part ways

    One of the longest-running and successful relationships between player and caddie is over. Phil Mickelson and caddie Jim "Bones" Mackay both released statements on Tuesday explaining that the two had "mutually decided to go our separate ways"...
    Read more

  • Video: SAM PuttLab at American Golf

    SAM PuttLab is the world’s best analysis and training system purely for putting. It analyzes the 28 most important parameters of your putting stroke and displays the results in an easy to understand graphic report.
    Read more

More news
 View More Button
Latest Videos
  • Video: What's Your M Combination?

    No matter which combination you play, you are playing the No1 family in Golf. More Tour pros are choosing a combination of M drivers and fairways to make their best, even better.
    Read more

  • Video: Improve Your Game Roadshow | GolfSixes

    The American Golf Improve Your Game Roadshow is touring the country and Chloe-Allyn Gallacher stopped by GolfSixes to check it out.
    Read more

  • Video: Golf's Best Value Trade-In in Three Simple Steps

    Upgrade your clubs with three simple steps with Golf's Best Value Trade-In. Chloe-Allyn Gallacher shows you how simple it is to trade-in your clubs at American Golf.
    Read more

More news
View More Button