Pros advice

Brittany Lang captures US Open crown after Anna Nordqvist grounds club


Powered by National Club Golfer


There was another USGA rules mishap as Brittany Lang overcame Anna Nordqvist to win the US Women's Open.

Last month at the men’s US Open champion Dustin Johnson (and his nearest competitors) played the last seven holes at Oakmont not knowing his actual score.

Now, at the US Women’s Open, Anna Nordqvist and Brittany Lang were in a play-off for the title when the Swede ground/grazed her 5-iron in a fairway bunker at the second extra hole, the 17th at Cordevalle.

The controversy here was not the ruling, a two-shot penalty, but the timing of the information passed on to the players – Nordqvist had just played her third shot to the 18th when she was told of the addition of shots.

Lang was just about to play her third so the timing was out of sequence.

The American then changed her club, played away from the water and made her par that way.

Had Nordqvist known that she was suddenly two shots in arrears, she would have been more aggressive.

Lang (71) and Nordqvist (67) both finished at six under, two clear of a quartet of players that included Lydia Ko who dropped five shots from the 8th to the 14th.

Nordqvist’s round was the best of the day and included an eagle at the 15th and no bogeys all day. Lang had got to seven under after a long birdie putt at 16 but gave the shot back at the next – this was her 46th Major start and she is the first over-30 player to win on the LPGA Tour in 2016.

What Lang said: “I actually said something to somebody in Arkansas. I just feel like I have extremely underachieved as a golfer. I feel like I’m so capable of doing so much more than I’ve done. And this is just a little start to boost me.

“I had lob wedge out, because I was going to hit a high lob wedge to land soft because I thought I needed a birdie. Right when he told me that, I was thankful he told me before I hit my wedge. I hit a little sand wedge way out to the right, and just tried to two-putt from over there.”

What Nordqvist said: “It’s hard to lose that way, but it’s the game of golf. I wish the USGA would have told me a little bit earlier. I don’t know if it would have changed the outcome, but it certainly would have changed my aggressiveness into the 18th pin. Hopefully these kind of situations are nothing that no one will ever have to deal with again.”



Keep up to date with all the latest news & videos
Latest News
  • AG News: American Golf Christmas Ad 2017

    The 2017 American Golf Christmas ad has landed, and this year it is packed with amazing deals and offers. From golf balls and clothing through to golf clubs and equipment, there's sure to be something here to entice every golfer this festive season...
    Read more

  • AG News: Tiger's return just like old times

    Tiger Woods started the week just hoping to get through four rounds uninjured, he ended it with us all licking our lips for the Masters in April...
    Read more

  • AG News: Record-breaking Fowler takes Hero glory as Tiger completes comeback

    Rickie Fowler overturned a seven-shot deficit in the Bahamas to take the Hero World Challenge in style as Tiger Woods completed his long-awaited return...
    Read more

More news
 View More Button
Latest Videos
  • Video: Top 5 Winter On-course Coaching Tips

    In this video, PGA Pro Nick Taylor brings us five tips to help players perform better on the green in winter...
    Read more

  • AG News: American Golf Christmas Ad 2017

    The 2017 American Golf Christmas ad has landed, and this year it is packed with amazing deals and offers. From golf balls and clothing through to golf clubs and equipment, there's sure to be something here to entice every golfer this festive season...
    Read more

  • Video: Winter On-course Coaching Tips - Chipping onto the green in winter

    Nick Taylor shows us how to chip onto the green in winter by offering some vital tips and hints to give you the best chance of success on the golf course...
    Read more

More news
View More Button