Pros advice

Louis Oosthuizen’s miracle hole in one on 16 at The Masters

Powered by National Club Golfer

We all know what happens at the 16th on Sunday at the Masters – you land it right of the pin and let the slope and gravity give you a chance of a hole-in-one.

We’d already seen holes in one from Shane Lowry and David Love III but what happened after Louis Oosthuizen hit his tee shot has never seen before in Masters history.

JB Holmes had already put his efforts close then as Oosthuizen’s tee shot trickled down towards the hole it hit his playing partner’s ball full on.

At one point it looked like both balls might end up in the hole but Oosthuizen’s re-routed into the cup as Holmes’ just slid by.

If Holmes’ ball ended up in the hole it would not have counted as a hole in one as the ball had come to rest. It was replaced and Holmes had to make a birdie from the ball’s original finishing position.

Had the South African had the honour things might have been very different.

Keep up to date with all the latest news & videos
Latest News
  • AG News: Golf’s new rules 2019 – what’s coming in?

    It’s all go for January after the R&A and USGA published their finalised Rules of Golf. So what’s coming in? Steve Carroll outlines the changes.
    Read more

  • AG News: Magnificent McIlroy wins Arnold Palmer Invitational

    Rory McIlroy was at his unstoppable best as he landed the Arnold Palmer Invitational while there was another Sunday charge from you know who...
    Read more

  • AG News: WITB: Rory McIlroy - Arnold Palmer Invitational

    Check out the clubs Rory McIlroy used to land his first win since signing with TaylorMade in May 2017...
    Read more

More news
 View More Button