Pros advice

Rory McIlroy wins Player of the Year award

Rory McIlroy has been confirmed as the PGA of America Player of the Year for 2014, which runs alongside his Vardon Trophy award for earning the lowest scoring average on the PGA Tour.

The 25-year-old Nike golfer has two major titles under his belt this season, as well as successfully capturing the WGC Bridgestone Invitational.

PGA of America’s prestigious Player of the Year award is decided on a points system, with Masters champion Bubba Watson coming in a pretty distant second to McIlroy.

Third place was Martin Kaymer, who won the US Open and Players Championship, while Jimmy Walker finished in fourth place.

For McIlroy, though, it makes the second time in three seasons that he has triumphed in both categories.

In the Vardon Trophy, the world No.1 had an adjusted stroke average of 68.82 (over 66 rounds), marginally edging out Sergio Garcia, whose 68.95 was achieved from 61.

And there could yet be even more accolades heading in McIlroy’s direction as he is already tipped to be named the PGA Tour Player of the Year, which is voted for by his peers. The result of that will be announced on October 9.

PGA Player of the Year 2014:

1st – Rory McIlroy (160 pts.)

2nd – Bubba Watson (62 pts.)

3rd – Martin Kaymer (52pts.)

4th – Jimmy Walker (46pts.)