Sergio Garcia Cleared of Rules Breach

Sergio Garcia has been cleared of any wrongdoing following an incident on the 18th green yesterday while playing at the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship.

Garcia was seen tapping something down in the line of his putt as he marked his golf ball. The action draws strong resemblance to Simon Dyson’s rules breach which saw him receive a two-month suspended ban.

The Spaniard was met at the golf course this morning by European Tour Chief Referee John Paramour, where the two of them watched the footage of the incident together.

Garcia maintains that he was merely tapping down a pitch mark, which is legal, and Paramour was apparently satisfied with his explanation. The two of them then went outside to inspect the green and Garcia showed Paramour the exact spot where the pitch mark was placed.

Following the meeting between Garcia and Paramour, a Tour spokesman said: “John Paramour is satisfied with Sergio’s version of the matter and that is the end of the issue.”

Garcia might be in the clear rules-wise, but his form was far from rosy as he struggled on the golf course all day yesterday, eventually carding a four-over 76. He was also suffering from injury, which he blamed on the rough.

Garcia is currently -3 through 6, +1 overall.