Pros advice

Choi now has nine wins on the LPGA Tour with this win

Powered by National Club Golfer

Na Yeon Choi fired herself to victory at the Arkansas Championship, after a 16th hole eagle pushed her ahead of the field and into in a lead that she would not relinquish at the Pinnacle Country Club.

“Yeah, I hit 3-wood and I hit 8-iron to the pin, was like 145. Then I hit controlled 8-iron,” Choi said. “I mean, when I hold the finish, I thought it's going to be good, but I didn't expect like it go in. I knew it was going to be good. That was a good shot and then I knew it's going to be good.”

With Stacy Lewis holding a one lead, the American missed a short birdie putt allowing Choi to take a one-shot lead and eventually the title.

“I mean, today, especially my putting didn't really work and but still I tried to keep focus my shot and swing, and then I kept hitting well and then after 16 I, after I hit the second shot, I knew this is going to be good,” Choi said. “I felt really good, you know, feeling after the impact. So when I holed the finish, I thought it's going to be good, but I didn't expect like go in. I was very happy after that shot, but like unfortunately I couldn't see the ball going in. I just heard a lot of screaming around the green.”

"Those two shots, I think I have to remember for my future," said Choi, who earned herself $300,000 with this win.

Meanwhile Lewis has now gone 27 tournaments without a victory, the longest of her career since a 25-tournament stretch between her first and second career wins during 2011-2012.

"It's tough, but honestly it's been a few weeks since I've been in this position and a few months, really, so you can't be too upset," said Lewis. "When somebody holes out and makes birdie on 16 and 17, you know, it's one of those things that it's kind of meant to be for [Choi]."

Choi now has nine wins on the LPGA Tour with this win.

Keep up to date with all the latest news & videos
Latest News
  • AG News: Golf’s new rules 2019 – what’s coming in?

    It’s all go for January after the R&A and USGA published their finalised Rules of Golf. So what’s coming in? Steve Carroll outlines the changes.
    Read more

  • AG News: Magnificent McIlroy wins Arnold Palmer Invitational

    Rory McIlroy was at his unstoppable best as he landed the Arnold Palmer Invitational while there was another Sunday charge from you know who...
    Read more

  • AG News: WITB: Rory McIlroy - Arnold Palmer Invitational

    Check out the clubs Rory McIlroy used to land his first win since signing with TaylorMade in May 2017...
    Read more

More news
 View More Button