Pros advice

Marcel Siem Named European Golfer Of The Month

Marcel Siem may have agonisingly missed out on a first Masters appearance, but as he watches the events at Augusta unfold he can console himself with his latest success; being named The Race to Dubai European Tour Golfer of the Month for March.

The 32 year old German earned the accolade following his wire-to-wire win in the Trophée Hassan II at the Golf du Palais Royal course in Agadir, Morocco, with rounds of 64-68-69-70 for a 17 under par total of 271 – three shots ahead of David Horsey and Mikko Ilonen.

The victory was his third time on The European Tour International Schedule following successes in the Dunhill Championship (2004) and Alstom Open de France (2012). Despite his recent form Siem was denied an inaugural appearance at Augusta National after failing by just by 0.03 points to make the top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking.

Siem, who picked up the monthly award for the first time in his career, said: “I am delighted to have been chosen by the panel for this honour. I was really pleased with the way I played the whole week in Morocco and it is nice to see that that has been recognised.

“I knew I had to win the Trophée Hassan II to have a chance of playing in the Masters but knowing you have to do something and actually going on and doing it are two different things, so I am very proud of myself for that.

“Obviously it was disappointing just to miss out in the end, but to be named as Golfer of the Month is a major consolation prize and will always be a great way to remember my third European Tour win.”

Siem will now be considered – along with January winner Chris Wood, February winner Darren Fichardt and all the subsequent winners to come throughout the season – for The 2013 Race to Dubai European Tour Golfer of the Year Award.

Perhaps the agony of his near miss, and the joy of having his efforts recognised by the European Tour can provide Siem with the extra motivation required to force his way into the year’s other Majors and follow in the footsteps of last year’s winner, Rory McIlroy.